Life Getting in the Way of Living

Let me tell you what my life looks like nowadays.

Take yesterday, for example. I got to work, which has been increasingly stressful for the last 6 months, with a lot of crap going on that I don’t think I should talk about here. Suffice to say I spent 10 mins crying in the loo, it was that bad. (I never cry at work. It’s happened ONCE before, and even then I was much younger, a rookie).

I left office early, at 5:30pm… only because I had a flight to catch to Qatar (for work of course! No one goes to Qatar if they can help it!) at 10pm. I got home. I was hungry, cos I’d only eaten half a sandwich (stress makes me lose my appetite) at noon for lunch, but I’d no time to eat cos the cab would come to pick me up soon. My day had started at 5:30am, and I’d not really been able to sleep well for a week or so, so I was exhausted and decided to take a 5 min nap. I woke up when the cabbie called telling me he’s waiting downstairs.

I jumped out of bed, packed everything in 5 mins and ran out the door. I got to the airport and got to the gate at 9pm, ten mins before boarding was to officially start. I saw that they were boarding people early, but I figured I had time for a quick bite to eat, so went to the nearby cafe and ordered a quiche. I sat down to eat it, and just as I’d put a forkful of food into my mouth, I heard the *final boarding call* for my flight. I was confused… cos my boarding pass said they would start … oh why bother! I discarded the quiche *sob* and ran (literally ran!) to the gate. That’s when I realized I didn’t have my laptop bag on me. I must have left it at the cafe. So I hauled ass back to the cafe, but the woman at the counter said she hadn’t seen any laptop bag.

There was a moment of wild-eyed panic cos I wasn’t sure where the hell else I could have possibly left it. I ran back to the gate and explained my predicament to the officer there. By now, people were starting to notice the crazy woman running to and fro between Gate 10 and Paul’s Patisserie. The guy who works those golf-cart type cars was parked there looking at me going back and forth like a ping-pong ball with a look of pity on his face that made me want to start crying all over again. The officer at the gate gave me 10 mins to retrace my steps and find my bag before he closed the gate.

I turned away from the gate wondering where to start when suddenly, the golf-cart driver beeped his horn, and when I turned around, I saw him driving to me with my laptop bag sitting beside him. Apparently the chef at the cafe found it and gave it to him. I thanked him profusely. But words like “thank you” seems strangely insufficient at times like this. I got to the plane, ate the crummy little egg sandwich and a sorry little cupcake they served and fell asleep watching The Big Bang Theory.

I woke up in Qatar, arriving at the same time I’d left cos of the 1 hour time difference, with only my body clock complaining confusedly. The line at immigration looked like it was inspired by Lucifer himself, serpentine and long enough to make me wonder if I should just kill myself then and be done with it. I finally got to my hotel much after midnight. But no, the night was not over, cos you see.. I still had work left to do before I went to sleep. I managed to send a couple of mails before I finally succumbed to sleep. I’ve been up since 6:30am, working. And I just realized I’ve forgotten my laptop charger.

Help!

12 thoughts on “Life Getting in the Way of Living

  1. Good that the laptop had enough juice to type this post…..so that is a good thing….Ah did I touched a raw nerve… .sorry about that…Hopefully you will get some sleep when the laptop goes out of juice….

  2. oooooooooooooooooppppppppppppppsssssssssssssss

    I can courier you one from here if that will help :)

    All in a days work isn’t it … I hope you have had a good sleep and I am sure you can borrow a charger from someone in the office for sure ..

    Take care and relaxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. hey listen, I don’t know if this will make you feel any better, but I really hope it does.. After a long hot crapppy day at the court- in my bid to let my hair down – I switched on my laptop and just wanted to read ( but as it turns out most of my favorite bloggers dont blog that often) Nevertheless, as soon as I hit my home screen, automatically my fingers itch to click on these three blogs (saved as quick links) One of them is yours.. and lo! all three bloggers had posted something new,, and I felt so good,, just knowing that I will have something nice to read..Also, yours is the first I chose to read.. So I guess what I am trying to say is that no matter, what life throws at you – you always should have a reason to smile… Hope things get better..!

    (Oh and I was almost about to hit ‘post comment’ with this new wordpress blog that I have started, which takes ranting to another level, of course it’s anonymous – otherwise some people may want me dead lol)

    • Thank you Stutee! :)
      I’m sitting at the airport, waiting for my flight, eating “lunch” at 4:30 p.m. And reading your comment. And this is the only thing making me smile right now.

  4. We all hit this point at one time or another – a job we hate, and in general feeling confused, restless. If the job is absolutely driving you nuts, maybe look into what you can change (or as Stephen Covey says, ‘operate within your circle of influence’). The smallest changes might be taking on projects you might enjoy or dropping the ones you detest. Larger changes may be working for a different team/division if that’s an option. Of course, quitting and moving on to something else is a much bigger change, something only you can evaluate. I could be wrong – but I think what you’re feeling is a bit of loss of control – I can certainly identify with that – sometimes, too much is going on, too many things breaking down. Making small changes, just getting control over smaller things, helped me think clearer and plan out my next steps. Hang in there!

    • Thank you! You’re right, the loss of control on my life is what is most upsetting. I know it can’t go on like this forever. I am making small changes in my life, as you suggested. I cannot afford to burn out!

Go on! Tell me what you think!

