The Wait

packed and ready

I’m in a weird situation at the moment.

I’m supposed to go to a very important work event next week, and I’ve got my tickets & hotel confirmed by the company and even booked a place to stay at for the weekend so I can stay on after the event and explore the place. But… I’m not sure if I’m going or not.

You see, I don’t have my visa yet. :/

*tick*

Usually, the Schengen visa takes all of 3 days to come through. But now, for whatever reason (tourist season, apparently), the embassy has decided that they will take 30 days to process ALL visa applications. I don’t have 30 days! I had 15! And now I have… till Thursday!

*tock*

I’m not sure if I should prepare myself to go or prepare myself to not go (if I don’t go, I face the wrath of my bosses). I’m not sure if next week this time, I’ll be fraternizing with colleagues over a glass of cava or… or… oh horror! I don’t even want to think of it!

I don’t know anyone at the embassy, and I don’t know if I can just walk up to them and coax them into giving me a visa (embassies don’t work that way do they?). I’ve got my fingers crossed, cos I don’t know what else to do. It’s a waiting game… and the tension is driving me up the wall!

 

*tick*…

6 thoughts on “The Wait

    • Yeah, waiting and hoping it’ll come through!
      And no, I couldn’t, it’s a business visa, and the company sends a letter for the number of days, so it’s just for a week.

    • My usual travel is around the Middle East where I have visa on entry.
      This is schengen visa, which I require less frequently. But yes, next chance I get, I’m going to work on getting a multiple entry, long-term visa.

Go on! Tell me what you think!

