Feeling Blue!

Where we buy our tickets for the blue grotto

The ticket “booth” :D

“You have to sit on the floor!”  “The flooooor?! But it’s wet!”

“Wet? Ah, it’s all natural water from the sea!”

“Does that mean I won’t get wet?!” I muttered to myself. But I had to sit down at the bottom of the wet little dinghy anyway. There was no other way to get into the cave, it was nearing high-tide and the opening was almost too small even with all of us laying down flat. The oarsman (in my worry of wetting my bottom with “natural seawater”  and the thrill of getting into the cave, I forgot to ask his name, so let’s call him Ricardo shall we?) was quite a character! I was with my two travel-buddies, they were sitting on one side of the rowboat, and me on the other, with Ricardo standing in the middle talking to us in a loud booming voice. If the tide allowed it, we could go into the blue grotto, if not… *shrug*

The tiny entrance to the cave

The tiny entrance to the cave

I was sitting with my back to the entrance, but when I craned my neck back, I could see that the entrance was hardly anything. Then Ricardo asked us to lay down flat and he crouched down low as well. I didn’t think we could get in there, but Ricardo somehow managed to pull us inside with a rope and we went from bright sunlight to sudden darkness in an instant. I blinked a couple of times to get my bearings and sat up. Ricardo rowed us deeper into the cave and then he yelled “look back!” and this is what we saw.

Inside the Blue Grotto

Inside the Blue Grotto

It was amazing! My eyes widened and my skin tingled. Where was all that light coming from?! Why was the water so brilliantly blue?!! But before I could even begin to think of all this, dear Ricardo started singing. He had a powerful voice, and whatever he was singing in Italian worked its magic. Of course, there were other boats in there, and when Ricardo started singing, the others joined in as well! The sound of their voices echoed around us and sounded magical and surreal in this dark cave with the strange blue water.

We came out of the cave and back to real life way too soon for my liking. But our manager at the hotel, Mario (who was shamelessly flirting with us and said I’m to be his second wife :P) said he has a boat and asked us to visit in the summer cos we can go swimming there as well!

So if anyone can sponsor my trip to Capri, please mail me and I’ll sort out the rest of the trip for you! :D

13 thoughts on “Feeling Blue!

    • The blue grotto has 2 openings. One that illuminates the blue grotto is a hole beneath the water that’s about 10 times the size of the hole we used to enter the cave from. That’s why the water looks the way it does. :)

Go on! Tell me what you think!

