What Now?

It all happened so quickly that I almost don’t remember it happening. I went to India on Thursday, got back on Sunday, and started the new job on Monday. I barely slept all week (I was that busy) and somehow, though I’m overjoyed with the job and excited about it, I’m listless and… I dunno the word to explain it without sounding… well… never mind.

I felt the same way after  I moved houses. It was a project that was completed, a goal achieved. This job is also something like that, something I intended to get (and now have to keep and grow of course) but now that I’ve finally gotten it, I feel strangely adrift, without purpose.

I tried retail therapy and my new wallet’s near empty (but it’s new :P), but that only offered a temporary distraction.

I somehow try to covince myself that everything is meant to be and that there is a reason things are the way they are, but this feeling  is just so frustrating that I’m impatient to get away from it.

Only, there’s nowhere to go, you know?

14 thoughts on “What Now?

  1. Its the thrill of the chase, babe. And its completely normal. You’ve wanted this for so long that you focused on the run up. So give yourself a break, chill out and settle in. Im sure the fun will kick in soon enough, and life will be back on track.

    Hope India was awesome and fun!

  2. I know what you mean but that’s besides the point. Maybe what you need to get your groove back is to not forget the new year resolution – demand more! :-)

  3. :) we all been there we work so hard to attain something and when we get it we dont know what to do NOw ..

    its like they say in a race its not the winner who knows the REAL happiness or what it means to win.. its the one who is left behind who know what it would have been ..

    but dont worry settle down in the new job and you will soon find the next goal :)

    All the best

  4. I totally know that feeling. There’s a saying along the lines of the winner does not appreciate the winning as much as the one who loses (Don’t remember the exact words). I suggest you set yourself another target, that usually works for me.
    And best of luck, enjoy the new job.

  5. Yeah, someone else was trying to explain that to me.
    Something about how the winner doesn’t feel the loss, and the feeling of loss is a greater emotion than the winning.

    The job is challenging enough and is barely giving me time to think about new targets, but the emptiness remains. *sigh*

Go on! Tell me what you think!

