Comfort Zone

I’ve been at my current job for almost 6 years now, and I’d gotten into this rut where nothing was really happening career-wise, but I realized that I’m comfortable with the job. I have very good friends at work, the timings are pretty flexible, my clients trust me and I know what I’m doing.

But, nothing is really challenging anymore. Very few projects excite me. Plus, my company pays peanuts, much lower than the industry std, which really, is the main beef I have about my job. But I was comfortable, living from day to day with no major change, but happy anyway, at least in the past one year (I had my ups and downs before that).

I knew I needed to get out of this rut I’d gotten myself into. So my new year’s resolution was to get another job.

And… I have! :)

I gave in my papers on the 1st of Feb, and have been on the most chilled out notice period ever! The honeymoon period of the job is NOW for me, at the end! :D

I spend my days chatting with colleagues more often than responding to mails, knowing that this is time is limited. (It’s cool, cos I’ve informed my clients that I’m leaving and so we’re not working on any new projects, so the workload has reduced). Breakfasts and lunches together with my colleagues mean so much more to me now. In fact, I actually enjoyed those better than the formal farewell that was thrown for me by my bosses (though of course, I appreciate the sentiment behind it and was glad they did give me one!)

If everything goes well and I get my passport back from my new company (they’re processing my visa and it’s taking so lonnnng!) I leave for a short trip to India on Wednesday before I join the new place.

The new job involves a LOT more travel than my current job, and I know that it’s going to be much more high-pressure environment and not exactly as friendly a place as my current job. But I’m excited about it, and not really nervous yet (maybe that’ll kick in later?) and am raring to go!  I hope the new job is as good for my career as the last one and hope that it all goes well.

Wish me luck! I know I’m going to need it!

14 thoughts on “Comfort Zone

  1. All the best with the new job, You know we fall into this trap of comfortable.. Oh i wish i had as much guts as you and put in my resignation .. I am also too used t oit and I enjoying .. but as you say its get boring.. although I must say in the last coupld of years i have had some exciting projects ..

    All the best with passport and going to india have fun

    Take care

  2. Yayy finally the news is out here! Big hugs for making the move when you really needed it, and not choosing to stay comfortable. I think it takes a lot to acknowledge that and do something about it :) And as long as you have that thirst for a challenge, Im sure everything that comes your way will be fun and exciting.

    Oh, and you’re coming to India?! Visit Goa!

  3. Good for you Sanju, cheers. SInce home is Kerala, try and fit in some Chennai time on your short trip home. I guarantee a fun time will be had by all :-)

Go on! Tell me what you think!

