The Good Quiet

I know this I meant this to largely be a travel-blog, but since the only kind of travel happening in my life right now is all in my head, I’m gonna talk to you about my trip to the supermarket instead! (Yes, really!)

This weekend (fri-sat weekend for us folk in the Middle East btw), was a bust! My shoulder and neck problem resurfaced by Thursday afternoon, and by the time I left work the pain had developed into a nasty headache and I knew it would get steadily worse if I didn’t see my chiropractor and get it fixed. I couldn’t of course, cos she closes up by 6 and I’d have had to leave work early, which, I didn’t want to do on account of some stuff that happened that kept me away from office earlier that day for over 2 hours! (I’ll explain later, cos this is not about that, but if it makes you any happier, it kinda involves more car trouble, among other things!). So I decided to see her on Saturday, when she opens for business again.

I went out on Thursday night with the gang and tried to ignore the pain as much as possible. But by Friday, it was so bad that I could barely get out of bed. I iced my shoulder, took medicines for the pain, and slept for a very long time (when I’m asleep, I don’t feel the pain).

I woke up early today, and was feeling much better, but my shoulders were still tender and I was sick from stagnating at home all of Friday. I decided to go for a walk, get some fresh air, get the blood flowing! I had just started walking when TWC called and we chatted for 40 mins and I completely forgot about my walk! :D

However, fresh air and good conversation does wonders for the body and mind… and appetite! I headed to the supermarket to shop for groceries (as all I had at home was cheese and orange juice).

It being still early on a Saturday morning, the place was almost empty. The freshly stacked fruits and veggies looked so tempting that I felt like buying a bit of everything!

I ambled by in leisure, enjoying the oddly serene atmosphere, picking a vegetable here, smelling the odd fruit there, adding to my basket slowly- a fresh loaf of multi-grain bread, still warm from the oven, fresh lamb sausages, milk,  fruit- strawberries, cherries, rambuttan, blueberries.

I got home and downed a handful of berries while the sausages and eggs were cooking.

berries for breakfast!

Yes, I made quite a pig of myself I know! But I’m recuperating! ;)

I met with my chiropractor later in the afternoon, and she fixed me up in a jiffy. That woman has magic fingers, I tell you! I took it easy the rest of the day, just spent my time reading and chatting with friends on the phone.

I guess we need some days like this, and though it was my shoulder pain that brought it on, I quite enjoyed my quiet Saturday spent at home!

Hmm… I guess this weekend wasn’t a total bust after all! :)

14 thoughts on “The Good Quiet

  1. The quiet kind of weekend is my best kind of weekend! Especially if youre not feeling your best, theres no better way to really rest up than with a quiet low key weekend.
    Hope youre feeling better. Get some help with that neck/back, will ya?!

    • I’m better now, after my visit to my chiro. And it’s a chronic problem, my chiro helps a lot, but there are a lot of changes I need to make in life before I can actually get better.
      I’m working on it. :)

    • I’m a lot better now! Able to get back to my yoga! :)
      Thanks for asking!

      And yeah, while what you say is true, I have a lot of ME time, considering I’m living alone.

  2. Oh sorry I made you skip your walk!! Glad you have a great chiro!

    I’m impressed by your whole grocery-shopping-and-cooking routine. I don’t even remember the last time I shopped for fresh produce! I keep thinking it’ll rot while I’m gone and therefore don’t buy much.

    • Arey don’t be sorry! I was walking around (albeit in circles) anyway while we were chatting. It was nice of you to call and I enjoyed our conversation! :D

      Also, whoa! you never shop for fresh produce?! But it’s so tassssssty! Buy in small quantities?

      • I do buy fresh onion-tomato-giner-garlic-greenchillies, but it’s been at least 6 months since I bought fresh SUBZI, you know. I tell myself I’ll just make dal, or pulao (with frozen veggies)…..just anything to ensure I don’t have rotten veggies lying around when I fly back home.

  3. Ah! a quiet peaceful weekend in. Is that possible? The reason I never stay home during the weekend is it’s way quieter and relaxing outside than at home :-)
    Glad you had an unexpectedly nice weekend to recover.
    Do try some pilates, if you have time. It strengthens the core and secondary muscles, which really helps when you have a joint or muscle problem. My mom has cervical spond and rheumatoid arthritis and she says Pilates has made things so much better for her.

    FB message your number to me and I just might surprise you :-)

    • When I did yoga regularly, I was fine. But then laziness took over, and I stopped. :\

      Pilates and yoga are both good to strengthen your core muscles and your mind too, but the thing is, you gotta be regular, which I aim to be, from now on. :)

      And don’t you have my number already?! :)

Go on! Tell me what you think!

