So here I am… just waiting!

Wow! Where has the time gone?! I can’t believe it’s almost 2012 already! I still remember my first NYE party with the gang on NYE of 2008! That was one kick-ass party and that feels like it just happened a week ago!

And yet, here we are again, at the cusp of a new beginning, and waiting. I’m looking forward to the new year, hoping for good things to happen- for the fog to be lifted, for a path to appear, for the dots to be connected! It’s been a confusing year, and I’m glad that at least I still have hope!

Year-ends are usually pretty hectic for me. We’re always in a feverish rush to get our plans sorted out. We decide on the party, get  a theme going, run around looking for costumes, arrange the venue and the drinks and the DJ and the music and run around putting it all in place till the  party begins. Then we party like crazy till early into the morning. (everyone invites all their friends and we usually have about 150 people or so partying the night away at the rooftop of some hotel or the other).

This year, we decided to do things a bit differently. We’re going for the Coldplay concert in Abu Dhabi. We decided this sometime in November, before the tickets were even available for sale! We booked the tickets the second it became available, and then, since the concert is in Abu Dhabi (200 kms from home) we booked rooms at the Yas Island Rotana to stay the night after the concert, so we don’t have to worry about designated drivers and what not.  So now… we’re sitting around twiddling our thumbs and just waiting! *grin*

I’m not used to having so much time! I’m not used to not working against a deadline.  It’s good, I suppose! But a bit disconcerting not having anything to do.

2012 looks promising, with tentative plans for a vacation already being planned (for June!). I’m so excited about it that it’s taking everything in me to stop myself from shouting out to the world where I’m going and what I’m going to do. But till everything’s finalized, I’m gonna keep it under wraps, lest I jinx it somehow (yes, I’m superstitious that way! :P)

I usually make a few resolutions that I want to work on and get done through the year, and the main ones for this year was to change careers and to shift houses.

While I did move to a new place, I’m still stuck with the old job. So it’s 50-50 success rate I guess. Not too bad, considering everything that has happened!

For 2012, my main resolution is to get a new job (not necessarily career-change, but I want to shift jobs, even if it’s within the same industry).

The other one is inspired by this blog post.

I deserve more, I do. And I’m gonna ask for it. And I’m not gonna be all vague about it and ask just the Universe for stuff. No. I’m gonna be more ballsy and ask people for more. I’ve been scared for way too long and I’m not gonna let that stop me anymore! At least, that’s the hope! Obviously, easier said than done isn’t it? but I will try!

Here’s to hope! 

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “So here I am… just waiting!

    • Thank you! :)

      Somehow I believe that the way I feel during NYE is kinda like a forecast of how the year ahead will be! So I always hope for a good NYE, no matter what I’m doing! Dunno if you feel like same, but I hope you have a kick-ass NYE and 2012 is your best year yet!

  1. cheers ! *clink*! i wish you a real awesome new year ahead..
    Btw.. i liked the way you gave the link to the other blog for “other one inspiration” .. curious minds like me would go and read that blog.. good way to promote stuff :-)

  2. Have a blast and here’s to a great new year for all of us. (2011 has been on the not so great side)

    I’ve come across this particular post quite a few times, seems like it’s inspiring a lot of people or my blogging world is really small :-)

  3. Have fun at the concert! And a very happy new year to you!! This had better turn out to be the best year ever for ALL OF US cos God knows 2011 was a sucky year!

    I’m inspired to get my Oliver Twist on, too (so thank you). Let’s see how much of a relo/market adjustment I ask for when I move, for starters! It’s got to be empowering, naa? To be able to just ask people for stuff.

Go on! Tell me what you think!

