Viva la vida!

I’ve been super-busy for a while now… a lot of work, a few mini-trips within the UAE, people visiting… it’s all been good! :)

The weekend-getaway to the Le Meridian Al Aqah was the most blissful 48 hours of this year!

We went snorkeling…

Snorkeling at Snoopy Island

After that we were fooling around in the pool for hours (yes, that is a baby in the picture with us, second from the left.)

Innnnn the pool! :D

We got so tanned that by the end of the weekend, we all looked like we’d gotten spray-on tans! This road-trip to Fujairah was about a month ago, but the memories of it still bring a blissful smile to my lips!

On another happy note… my sis has come to visit, which is a lot of fun, though it feels strange to have to share my space with someone else.  But good strange! (Even though she finishes all the hot water :P )

Also, the UAE turned 40 this year, and the country had 40 days of celebrations leading up to the 2nd of Dec, which was mostly ignored by me cos I was busy with a bunch of other things and didn’t even realize the decorations were put up on the streets way before the National Day! On the final day though, it was a bit impossible to not join in the revelry!

We were on Jumeirah Beach Road, and promptly got stuck in the most fun traffic jam ever!  People pimped up their cars with the colours of the flag and pictures of the royal family,  and sprayed all the cars on the road with party string and foam.

National Day celebrations on Jumeirah Beach Road

Guy writing UAE on my car with foam

They completely foamed my car and lifted my wipers so I couldn't drive anymore!

I can’t believe that my relationship with the country has extended for so long! I came here as a toddler in 1984 and have grown up with the country. I’ve seen what it was and what it is now… and am flabbergasted in spite of having lived through most of the changes!

There is a lot of good in this country, and bad too of course, but I’m in the mood to count my blessings.The UAE has given me a lot of opportunities and I have lived a pretty good life here so far. It’s safe, secure and organized, the std of living is pretty darn good and cos Dubai is such a hub, I’ve been able to visit so many other countries with minimum difficulty in getting visas and things done quickly, which is excellent!

So live on Dubai… grow taller everyday!

Evening sky

5 thoughts on “Viva la vida!

  1. nmaha says:

    The aqua break sounds like heaven. And I completely agree with you, whatever anyone says about Dubai, it’ll always be home to me. There is absolutely no place quite like it. Keep those happy stories coming.

Go on! Tell me what you think!

