Why’d ya do it Britney?!

Marshalling at the F1 comes with the perk of being able to attend all the concerts happening there for free! In fact, this is what made me get into it in the first place! I didn’t give 2 hoots for the sport then, all I wanted was to attend Linkin Park! Of course, it was also a very exciting thing to do, and I met a lot of interesting people and made a lot of new friends there, which was what made me stay on, in spite of the strenuous and tiring work and the long hours we had to put in standing out in the sun, waiting and ready for any eventuality.

So I went for the Britney concert last night. It kicked off with a video of some dude who was sucking on a red lollipop and talking about how Britney was a “femme fatale”. This unfortunate video was played about 4 times during the entire show, every time Ms Spears wanted to go backstage for whatever reasons!
When she came on for the first time, she started off with “would u hold it against me”. Which, I think was a warning of sorts! “A bad show coming up folks, don’t hold it against me!”
It wasn’t a concert as much as it was a performance, and a bad one at that, cos she was clearly lip-synching! Which I wouldn’t have minded so much if she’d at least danced properly! She was like a bored stripper, making all the moves and pretending to be interested, but fooling no one except the drunks! Like I was telling this bored looking guy who was sipping on his beer, “this is definitely one show you needed to be drunk to enjoy!”

I think what was worst was that everything else was pretty amazing- the stage, the props, the extras who danced beautifully and with so much enthusiasm, everything was excellent! And none of it mattered, cos no one went there to see the acrobatics, everyone was there to see Britney! And she clearly didn’t care.
There was also this bizarre scene where she said “thank you so much and good night abu dhabi” and they turned off the lights and she went away, and a bunch of people left (obviously! Cos no one asked for an encore!) But then, about 3 mins later, the lights were turned on again and they played that over-played video again of the lollipop guy, and she was back on stage with Toxic. She actually *sang* a few songs, and this was one of em. This was one song of hers I realllly loved (there! And I’m not ashamed to admit it! :p) and she managed to ruin that too with her terrible singing.
Last year, I missed Linkin Park and obviously didn’t bother going for Kanye West, so decided to go for Prince cos hello! How could I not go for even one concert?!
I was never a fan of his music and didn’t know most of the songs he sang, but he blew me away! He sang all his songs, played his guitar beautifully, made up a lil jingle kinda thing for abu dhabi (which people kept singing long after the concert was over and we were on our way back), and his love for music clearly shined through! I don’t know where he gets his energy from, but he went on for 2 hours and came back when the crowd screamed for more, and worked the audience beautifully!
I hate to admit it, cos I belong to the same generation as Britney, but I guess they just don’t make em like that anymore!

2 thoughts on “Why’d ya do it Britney?!

    • Sanjana says:

      I actually did get stuck there. Cos there was this one guy who was giving the rest of us a ride back to our hotel, and he got high on beer and was all happy and crooning ” i’m a SLAAAAAVE for you”!

      *sigh*

Go on! Tell me what you think!

