It’s August Already!

Are you as tired of the previous post as I am?!

This is supposed to be a travel blog! I can occasionally give in and write about other stuff, but all this whining is not cool! Of course, on the other hand, it’s my blog and I can cry if I want to. But who wants to cry?!

This past week, every time I came to this page, I’ve been itching to update so that the damn post gets lost in new and happier posts. But you gotta admit, the threat of being homeless is quite a serious one, even in my world where I take most of life in the I’ll-worry-about-it-later attitude.

In case you’re wondering, I’ve extended my lease at the old place, and I’m still looking to move, cos I really can’t drive as much as I do cos I’m in constant (and I do mean that quite literally – constant) pain! It exhausting to be in constant pain, even if you’ve gotten used to it. And it’s difficult to explain to people how I can be in pain ALL the time. Shoulders.. stressed out.. driving.. work… tension etc

Anywayyyy… 

*change topic*

Ramadan has started as of today in the UAE (can you believe that it’s AUGUST already?! Where has the year gonnne?!)

I’ve always enjoyed Ramadan, and not just cos if the reduced working hours. Sure, I can’t eat or drink outside, but it’s so hot during the day, I’m not exactly going to be standing out in the sun and munching on chips  anyway! I can eat at the office or in the food court, or obviously, inside the house. Which is fine.

And I love how festive the whole atmosphere is in Dubai during the month. Also, everyone’s a lot more polite to each other, people are more relaxed and less stressed cos it’s the summer and  Ramadan, so there’s not much work to do, and of course, there are all those iftar parties to attend. ;)

A few of my non-muslim friends fast during the month too, which I think is great! It’s a fantastic way to understand and appreciate other cultures and religions, and if only more people experienced the peaceful side of other cultures, we could actually work towards a more peaceful co-existence in the world.

This is one of the things I appreciate about living in Dubai… about how we accept other cultures and religions into our midst and not compete about which one is best. Over the years, I’ve learned that a lot of the  “understanding” I’ve seen is thinly veiled tolerance, but still, we’re a lot better behaved in this country than we are in India.

The more I travel, and the more I see different cultures, the more appreciation I have for each of them.  I remember someone telling me once that he thought  all the problems in the world would be solved if everyone got married to people of different religions and communities.

Food for thought don’t you think? :)

Ramadan Kareem!

6 thoughts on “It’s August Already!

  1. Oh nobody WANTS to cry but sometimes you NEED to! Cry, cry away :D if that’s what makes you feel better.

    And that’s so amazing of your friends. I feel ashamed about not celebrating Thanksgiving/Christmas on my own. I always get invited to other people’s parties but if I didn’t I would never do anything on my own. I’m now inspired to do something this year! Come to think of it, even sending holiday cards to EVERYONE you know is such a nice thing to do and ALL my colleagues do it every year. I suck!
    (Come whine on my blog to reciprocate!)

    • :o) I know I know. But I’m sick of worrying abt the house thing. Wish it would get resolved already!

      And yeah, we all celebrate all the festivals here. Diwali, Onam, Vishu, Christmas, Eid, Thanksgiving, Lohri, Pongal… everything! :D

      I love that we can take part in the festivities and traditions of each others cultures, cos though it may just seem like a party, I believe it brings you together as people, which is the best thing!

  2. Growing-up in multi-cultural city like Dubai was the best. And where else do you get a whole month of half-days every year.
    Do you remember how we used to skip eating at recess for the whole month because so many of our friends were fasting? We learnt some amazing lessons out there.

    I plan to have Eid party here to alleviate my homesickness.
    Ramzan Kareem to you too.

    • Yeah, growing up in dxb definitely helped us become better world citizens! :)

      I was fasting for a few days last year too! :D
      Enjoy your iftar! Take pics and put em up won’t u!

  3. Ramadan Kareem :)

    I love the reduced working hours… and everything else too.

    Btw, I, my wife and a couchsurfer from UK are going to the Iftar at Atlantis on 9th. She’ll be here only for a day and wanted to experience Iftar. Would you want to join?

    I know sounds weird asking but it’ll be fun sharing travel stories. We can go and come back together so you won’t have to drive. Lemme know.

    • Hey! Thanks for the invite! I’d have loved to join you guys, but I’m going to Raffles for iftar on the 9th with the gang. Too bad your friend’s only going to be around for a day. :(

Go on! Tell me what you think!

