Within Reach

I was in London and had the whole day to myself. I’d already done the touristy spots with my friends the previous day and they’d gone back to Dxb early that morning. I decided to stay back for a week to explore more of the country.

I opened my Lonely Planet and looked up The Monument.

I was somehow fascinated by it and wanted to check out the place. After following the directions written on the book and the Tube map , (which was a lot of fun, l love maps!)  I got there and started on my way up. Only, I hadn’t anticipated the steps getting narrower and narrower on the way to the top or me suddenly getting a case of acrophobia, not to mention claustrophobia!

On the verge of panic, I ended up just sitting there for a while, trying to get my bearings and figure out what the hell to do, while a few people passed me by on their way up and down.

I was too scared to climb any higher, and when I looked down and saw the steps winding down to the curious red circle at the bottom, I felt like I’d never be able to move again!

After several deep breaths to calm myself, I decided to push on and get to the end of it, and surprisingly, reached the top after about only 20 more steps! And to think I’d almost planned on turning back, having reached so close to the top!

Once I reached the top, I felt exhilarated! I had done it! I took a lot of pictures, and chatted animatedly with everyone else up there about how crazy the climb was and all. Climbing down was easier, cos I was still psyched from the climb up! They even gave me a certificate at the end of it for having climbed to the top!

Life is like that sometimes, isn’t it? You end up struggling for a while to get someplace and you work at it so long and so hard that you tire yourself out. And then, sometimes, you feel so dejected and get so fed up that you give up.

But maybe, it’s better to keep trying. Maybe, you’re only just 20 steps away.

5 thoughts on “Within Reach

  1. I feel like that rite now, sanj. So close to the top and don’t think I want to go forward. But I guess pushing forward (and pushing when time comes haha) is the only way to go. So true for so many other things in life too. Nice post.

Go on! Tell me what you think!

