When I hate traveling!

I’m gonna be in Oman for the next couple of days.

I’m going for work of course.

As much as I love traveling, I loathe traveling for work. Especially the kind of work I do. I end up going to someplace like Oman or Bahrain or other equally boring places where I don’t know anyone other than the people I do business with. And obviously I don’t want to socialize with those people!

So I spend most of my time cooped up in the hotel with my laptop in front of me, or spend my time surfing channels on TV.

This time though, I do have one friend from school who is in Oman and I plan to meet up with her for dinner. So I’m hoping to have a better time than usual.

Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “When I hate traveling!

  1. Stephanie Faris says:

    I’m with ya on that. Every work trip I’ve ever had to take was the same. Work all day, then spend the evenings either alone in a hotel or trapped at some social event with co-workers I’d rather not hang out with after hours. I did learn to get out on my own and see the sites when I was in a city, when I was younger, because if you don’t force yourself to do that, you end up missing a great opportunity. But it’s just not nearly as much fun as being able to travel with people you love and have someone to enjoy things with!

    • Sanjana says:

      True. And I do like exploring on my own as well, but it depends on where I go. When I went to Egypt, I went out on my own to walk around and take a look at the place.

      But I usually cover uber conservative countries and walking out on my own is not the safest thing to do. This time round I met up with my old classmate and we went out together, which was great! :o)

    • Sanjana says:

      When I’m going for work, I don’t think I can do this! As it is, I have to arrange meetings and stuff, this would be an added burden, esp since most of the time I come to know I’m traveling only a few days before I have to leave.

      But I have heard of couchsurfing :o)

Go on! Tell me what you think!

