Ye Olde English!

As a child, I used to read a lot of  Enid Blytons and CS Lewis books. And I feel this is what got me fascinated with travel in the first place. I’d read books where the kids would go “have a picnic in the woods” (Dubai doesn’t have woods! ) with babbling brooks and streams with cold water that leave you gasping for breath and all, and I used to imagine what it’d be like to go for a picnic like that. Somewhere where the trees are so thick that the sunlight has to filter through the leaves, where the grass is soft and there are squirrels running around foraging for acorns and stuff.

Agatha Christie too, left me with a highly romantic impression of old British life, with their afternoon teas with scones and crumpets and seed cake! Mmm!  One of my favourite books is 84 Charing Cross, and that is non-fiction and even it painted me some lovely pictures of the UK in my head.

So, when I finally made my trip to the UK, there were a lot of ideas I’d already had in my mind about the place,  and though I tried to not expect all that, I couldn’t very well not think about it.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t disappointed! It was everything I’d imagined it to be, and more! And though I was expecting at least one racist remark, having heard how bad things were over there, I didn’t have even one bad encounter! The people were friendly and chatty. I’d stopped at this one cafe for breakfast, and the  proprietor was so welcoming, talking to me about the weather first (but of course!) and then Dubai, travel etc.  Quite nice!

I had ordered the full English breakfast there and I can tell you now, it is way too much food for a human being to have at one sitting! I have a healthy appetite, but could not even put a dent on what was put on my plate – thick slices of bacon, effing huge sausages, eggs (scrambled), one juicy tomato grilled to perfection, velvety button mushrooms with fried onions, thick crusty slices of bread with butter and different types of jams.  Oh, and coffee.*groaaaan*

I went there in December, and though it was bitterly cold, I had an amazing time! I didn’t have “sensible shoes” in the beginning, but one cold wet night in Oxford Street, I walked into a store with toes that were on the verge of falling off from frostbite, ditched my soggy sneakers and bought a pair of boots made of soft leather that were comfortable, stylish, practical for walking and unfortunately, too expensive! But at least I still have my toes! :o)

The thing about the UK is, everywhere you go, though you find modern life around you with shopping malls and cars etc, you also find that the shops and buildings are centuries old and are renovated to fit into modern life, because of which it manages to retain an old-world charm.

I used my Lonely Planet as a guide, but also just went about places randomly, getting into libraries and thumbing through books, then walking to the nearest cafe for a quick cup of coffee before  wandering off again. I tried everything English in the week I was there, from Cornish pasties to Cottage pies, hot-dogs from the street vendors  to toad-in-the-hole from pubs and of course, the famous fish n chips (which was horrible at the place we went to in London, but I had some really good ones at Cambridge later on).  I had the Sunday roast on Sunday (:P) and tea and crumpets for, well, tea! Except I cheated and had coffee instead (What?! I’m a coffee-person!).  While in Cambridge, I checked out the “second smallest city” in the country – Ely.  I was amused by the title, and when I asked which was the smallest, my cousin looked at me like with an oh!?  expression and could offer no details.

Greenwich was quaint and romantic, with pubs with names like The King’s Arms  and streets and houses that looked so much like the Britain in my head that it made cars looked completely incongruous in the setting! I’d not have been surprised to find stagecoaches and inns with stables for horses to rest in between journeys!

It’s exhilarating to see so much of what you’d imagined  and have it all come alive before you!Cambridge, London, Wales… I took in as much of it all as I could in the short time I was there.

If you’re like me, the UK will make you feel like you’re revisiting an old memory. You’ll look around for the familiar, and though you’ve only read about them in books, you’ll find it there, unchanged and perpetual, just like a fairy-tale!

4 thoughts on “Ye Olde English!

  1. nmaha says:

    Me too. Enid blyton defined my childhood dreams. So much so that so would insist on packing boiled eggs with salt and pepper in little paper packets and eat them on imaginary picnics with my dolls. My family still teases me about this :-)
    Oh! And how could I forget – I always wanted to go to the boarding schools in her books – Mallory towers and st. Clares. But then you know what a book worm I was.

  2. Sanjana says:

    hehehe! I know. Dunno HOW u managed to pay attention in class while reading all those books at the same time! *impressed*

    And my fav was the Whyteleafe School (The Naughtiest Girl series) books. :D

    And yeah… dunno HOW she managed to make eggs and tomatoes sound so appetizing! :D

Go on! Tell me what you think!

