This gym ain’t for the weak-minded!

As I walk out of the gym, exhausted by my work-out, I notice that right outside the entrance there’s a Studio R.

Fair enough, good sales strategy. People who join the gym, will come bouncing out filled with the manic fervour instilled by their trainers to get in shape nowww and be prompted to buy the latest work-out shoes, clothes, watches and what-not.  And have you ever noticed how in the gym there are always a lot of people with lithe bodies covered in spandex  that make you feel like you’ve stepped into some alternate reality where you’re the only girl in a size 12? I mean, it’s not that I’m fat. Cos I’m not. But I should lose around 6 kilos to reach my ideal weight. I used to be a size 8, which I wasn’t happy with then, but now I’d be happy being a size 10 and still be able to enjoy a red velvet cupcake from Magnolia’s once in a while. See, I’m being practical! :D

So anyway, I walk out, and there’s Studio R on my left, and then comes Fruitesca, where they make all those smoothies. Again, health food. Good stuff.  But it all goes downhill from there.

They have this place called Seattle’s Best Coffee, with pastries and muffins and chocolate-chip laden cookies  displayed out, designed to test your will-power to the max! I somehow manage to move my starving body past the damn coffee shop only to be assaulted by the cheerfully pink and inviting eeevil that is Dunkin Donuts, with the Boston Cremes calling out to me, begging to be eaten!

How is this fair? Since when did a trip to exercise your body become one for the mind too? I survived yesterday. But how much longer before I succumb?  I go there again tonight. Hopefully will be able to get past Paul’s without incident!

I wonder if Studio R sells blinders!

4 thoughts on “This gym ain’t for the weak-minded!

  1. This post is spot on. Everyday after my workout I go and reward myself with a frappaccino. No wonder I’ve gone up by one dress size since I started working out. You hold on to your resolution there.

  2. Blinders alone won’t do the trick. You need something to block that smell of hot donuts as well!!!

    lol, I know the feeling – the pangs of good food especially after a good workout.

    I suggest you decide 1 day in a week as your guilt free day when you’ll step out of the gym and take in whatever you want to. But just once a week. It should work fine.

  3. Rakesh, they have Cinnabon there! The smell is so tempting! But thankfully, I like the taste better than the smell. And btw… since I’m not exactly looking to lose weight, I do eat whatever I want to. :D I’m not the dieting types!
    I just think passing this place everyday will make me end up GAINing weight, which I don’t want obviously.

Go on! Tell me what you think!

