A Tourist at Home

It’s been a ridiculously long time since I last blogged. I could give a lot of excuses, sure… but the real reason is that I’m just plain lazy. I need to just get down to it and start writing again.

SO…. okay… I have decided that I will blog every single weekday, until the end of this month!

I’m not sure how I’m going to go about it… what will I blog about every single day? But it’s out there now and I’ll just have to do it.

I’ll start with Dubai, cos I blog very little about the city I was brought up and continue to live in. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and to ease the burden of thinking up stuff to write…  I’ll put up a picture or two as well (all cellphone pics, so excuse the poor quality).

a rare cloudy day in Dxb

This was taken a couple of weeks ago. It hardly ever rains in Dubai. So when it does, we’re all thrilled to bits about it! Except, this particular weekend, my friend was visiting from the U.S. and I didn’t want it to be ruined cos of the rain. Though it did rain quite heavily, it was scattered, and we managed to stay out of the rain for the most part.

I showed them around, took them to the usual places… souq madinat jumeirah, Dubai Mall, Barasti etc.

Looking up at the skyline from Barasti

View from Barasti

They were happy tourists, raring to go and pleased with everything they saw.  A lot of it reminded them of the U.S. apparently, but more Arabic of course. So while the outdoor lebanese restaurant I took them to was very similar to the one they frequented in San Francisco, the hummous was wildly different (and better) than the one they had there. It was all, at once familiar yet exotic, which is quite a heady mix! 

The Burj Al Arab

The Burj Al Arab

I took them to the Burj al Arab for afternoon tea. They didn’t realize the meal involved as many courses as it did.

Afternoon "tea"

Afternoon “tea”

It started with champagne, which is a bit different from your usual afternoon tea menu, but then this is Dubai of course! Then came tarts and sandwiches, sorbets, scones with clotted cream, macaroons and profiteroles,  and finally, the choices for tea (or coffee) were brought forward, followed by more cakes and pastries.

a day of excesses!

a day of excesses!

Of course, it is impossible for a normal human being to eat all of this in one sitting and we left with our tummies bursting and heads reeling from the excesses of the day.

Scones! My favourite part of tea!

Scones! My favourite part of tea!

I took them to Deira afterwards, to show them the other side of Dubai. We drove around Satwa and walked around the gold souk for a bit before I dropped them off to the airport.

I must say, I saw more of Dubai in those three days than I have all year! I love showing tourists around, cos if you’re not traveling, the next best thing is to be around people who are!

Everything seems a lot more interesting from a tourist’s curious eyes, doesn’t it?

 

2 thoughts on “A Tourist at Home

Go on! Tell me what you think!

